Ty Sculpture Trail (Again)

IMG_1430

I visited the Ty Sculpture trail in May 2017, but we went again today and the woods are so beautiful in Autumn I wanted to add my new pics. Here is my original blog post – https://walkswithkidsnorthsomerset.wordpress.com/2017/05/28/ty-sculpture-trail-and-beyond/

IMG_1379

Something for everyone, wooded areas, open fields, a hill, lots of flat sections, a river, trout lakes and a smashing cafe.

We walked about 2km, but Frankie was determined to find all the sculptures. It could be much shorter, or much longer come to that!

Push chairs – No.

Dogs – Yes.

IMG_1440

We parked in the Jacklands Fishing Lakes car park, BS48 1HA. If you pop into the farm shop, which is more of a cafe, you can pick up a map of the Ty Sculpture Trail which  has been made in memory of a young man who lived by the woods. More info here – http://www.tysculpturetrail.co.uk/ .

IMG_1479

Frankie is 4 and Louie is just over 2 and both kids loved having her own little map with things to tick off as they found them. We found lots of extra sculptures and other things which we drew on ourselves. Frankie led us round and was determined to find all the sculptures. Louie just liked finding them and scribbling on the map.

IMG_1401

Be aware that the first time I went I found them quite difficult to find! They are quite small and carved into stones on the floor and blend in really nicely to the wood (see pics do you know what to look for) for the first 15 mins I was looking for big sculptures!

IMG_1414

The map is pretty comprehensive, so you don’t need more instructions from me, but I definitely recommend a visit to the bubbling pool. It really bubbles and no one knows for sure why!

IMG_1385

To complete your trip have lunch at the farm shop. It’s so lovely, there’s rabbits and chickens as well as being super reasonably priced. But the best bit is they do home made trout based food. Last time I had a smoked trout and rocket quiche for £1.50, this time I had an amazingly dense brownie for £1.50, the do sandwiches and bacon butties too. They are doing up their cafe and I cant wait to see it finished, the owner said it will be done in Spring. They also had a lovely little shepherds hut to sit in and a photo album of how they have improved the fishing lakes.

 

 

 


Leave a comment